Skip to content

I Give Up

June 13, 2009

I recently uploaded a Youtube video about my thoughts on Sprint’s distribution of the Palm Pre. In the video, I said Sprint was not handling the inventory well, and as much as I understood only releasing 375,000 units in order to build up interest, it made acquiring the phone very difficult for anyone who actually knew about it and wanted it, considering each store only got about 10-20 phones, and the one near me did not get any at all.

From this, the Youtube user base “figured out” the following “facts”:

1. I am an iPhone owner who thinks the Pre is an inferior device.
2. I don’t know what I’m talking about when it comes to distribution.

The comments were getting so stupid to the point that I couldn’t even laugh at them anymore, and it became obvious nobody actually watched the video. Just because the title was “Palm Pre Disappointments” they assumed it was a disappointing review, when in reality I haven’t gotten my hands on the phone yet. All I was disappointed about was not being able to find one.

The part I love, though, is that because I couldn’t find a Pre I am apparently an iPhone owner. Oh man, totally. Steve Jobs is my god I can’t wait to trade in my crappy 3G so I can get a 3GS with Copy/Paste functionality!

Especially since my “iPhone” looks like this:

That, my readers, is a Sanyo SCP 3100. NOT an iPhone. If that was an iPhone, Apple would have gone out of business a long time ago. My phone is three years old and has 4 minutes of talk time before the battery dies. Now THAT’S an impressive piece of technology! (For all you retards out there, that was sarcasm.)

Remember back in 2006 when the Wii was released and nobody could get their hands on one because of the distribution problems? It’s the same with the Pre. Not enough product to satisfy the demand. And what with Apple’s 3GS iPhone launching in just a few days, the Pre will have some serious competition. It would have been smart for Sprint/Palm to get a leg up on the competition, that’s all I’m saying.

Now let me be clear: I want a Pre. Anything to upgrade from the phone you see up there. Am I going to rabidly defend it against the iPhone? No. Does that mean I am an iPhone fanboy? No! Where in the hell do these insinuations come from anyway? Is the average internet user THAT stupid? I used to think of myself as a pretty average guy. I wake up, I eat, I check my e-mail, I play some games, I go back to sleep. But seeing these comments on my Youtube and the general etiquette of internet users has had the opposite effect on me. It’s given me a ridiculous ego boost!

I don’t start shit in real life or on the internet. Especially not on the internet. It’s just not worth arguing with somebody who has the intelligence of a packing peanut. The saddest part is that a lot of people say that these people are better in real life. I don’t think so. You know that douchebag you met at the party that you would never be friends with? That’s the same guy who just impugned your integrity for saying you liked Killzone 2 on the X-Play forums.

Wanting your website to have a community is a noble cause. The problem with online communities is the anonymity factor.

When you go onto a website’s forums, or leave a comment on a blog or Youtube video, your “right” to post is nothing more than a privelege, one that administrators need to start taking away when the community gets too out of control and lacks the intelligence to uphold well-thought-out conversations. I say fuck the banhammer. It’s time to get rid of forums altogether when the user base starts mistreating it.

I’m hearing all this talk about Web 3.0. People say it’s all about social networking, but they don’t know why. I think I do. You look at sites like Twitter and Facebook, and what do you see? Intelligence. People talking to people they know, no anonymity factor, and the true possibility of personal embarrassment. When you post a link on Facebook or Tweet what you are doing, you are doing so as yourself, not as a screen name or as a completely anonymous poster. More than that, though, you have security. You can choose to let anyone reply or only people you know. Either way, you can see exactly who is posting their thoughts on your thoughts. Tweetworks, as I stated in my interview with Mike Langford, is a website that combines the openness of forums with the “post as yourself” factor of social networking websites. You are responsible for what you say, just as you are in real life. Why is this a good thing? Because it makes sure that, at least sometimes, the stupid people shut up.

I for one would love to see an end to anonymity on the internet. Everyone will disagree with me on the argument that then they can’t post to websites without giving away their personal information. My response? Then don’t! The less you say anonymously the better. What I don’t say is that nobody was interested in what they had to say in the first place because nothing they said brought anything of substance to the conversation. Sometimes it’s just better to keep your mouth shut.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. While I also find it annoying that people on the internet seem incapable to hold intellectual conversation, I think that anonymity is important. In censored states (such as China), if people were not allowed anonymity, then they wouldn’t be allowed to post their view of their government.

Leave a Reply

