Skip to content

Bubble Bursting Babies

February 7, 2009

SCAD Freshmen have a very interesting tendency to not know proper bus etiquette. The exception of course would be if they grew up in a major city, like myself, and knew bus etiquette beforehand. But as a primer, here’s all you need to know:

  1. The person sitting next to you is not a pillow.
  2. If you do try to sleep on them, they have the right to elbow you in the ribs.

Keep these words in mind, you poor, naive freshmen, because when somebody elbows you in the ribs for falling asleep on them on the bus, I won’t be there to say I told you so.

Luckily the rest of today was very fun. I went to Montgomery to play “Rock!” and “Container” with Brenda and Ian Schreiber. Ian still has his champion of “Rock!” throne. “Container” seems like a game I want to pick up. We didn’t get very far into it, didn’t even get to the auction part, but I could already see some strategy arising in terms of market control and resource gathering. My mind kept jumping to how I could translate the rulesets into Communism for a followup to Stalin’s Stash, which reminded me of the fact that I need to get that reprinted tomorrow. But I am sure that will be another story for another time.

Overall it was great meeting Schreiber and it made me remember just how much I love networking among this industry. GDC is coming up but I won’t be able to afford to go, so really the next chance I’ll get is GDX, which is here this year, luckily, so now six hour road trip to Atlanta or praying for my ass not to get crushed on the 8-lane highway. That’s a bit of a weight off.

I never really gave an ending post to the game jam, I apologize. It was a lot of fun and my team made a great project. I owe Tommy a beer for being able to program an entire physics engine in Flash in one weekend. I am just glad I will be able to treat this weekend as an actual weekend instead of the stressball that was the game jam. Still, it was a fantastic experience and I can’t wait for the next one. In the meantime, the beer I needed after it ended is long overdue.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

