Skip to content

Further and Further Into Debt

May 1, 2008

This game is very slowly bankrupting me, and that doesn’t take much for a college student. So far I’ve dropped about $73 on this game, with more expenses on the way. Granted, to develop any game for under $100 is a feat (although I’m not sure how much Julia has spent) but what with me already being basically FLAT BROKE already this is kind of hurting.

However, I’ve already got another idea for the next game in the Commie Series so keep an eye out for that this summer.

I really have no idea how I’m going to be able to afford to continue making board games. Hopefully most of what we used can be used again, like the spray paint and such. Luckily the boards and boxes are cheap enough, it’s just a matter of affording everything else. But I planned for this earlier this year. I knew this would happen and so there’s really only one logical path you can take:

Publication.

Those of you who know me know I hate publishers. I’ve had bad experiences with them in the past and so if we’re going to get these games published they have to be with a company run by people I can trust and who aren’t going to just keep all the money for themselves. It’s a risky endeavor but it’s the only way to make back what we spent making it.

Luckily I know some places up in Boston that would probably love to carry it. I just need to get in touch with them once we have our game finished. Then we show it to them and get an idea of interest, then bring that and the game to a publisher, get it printed, and see how it does.

I’m going to go set up a Board Games section of the DeviateSoft website. Expect to see that up tonight.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

