Skip to content

Shades of Silver

April 19, 2008

Welcome, one and all, to my brand new blog which I have entitled, “Shades of Silver.” For those of you who don’t know who I am (pity), my name is Daniel Silverstein. I am a game designer at the Savannah College of Art and Design. I was born and raised in Boston, Massachusetts, and still consider Boston my home and while it sucks that the Patriots didn’t win the superbowl, I dare ANY team in the NFL to come as close as we did, and even then, go the full 19-0. Anyway, I am currently lead designer on a game entitled NightRise, a total conversion mod for Unreal Tournament 3. I am also currently developing a board game entitled Stalin’s Stash with my partner in design, Julia Smith (which should excite you to no end, Brenda).

Now a little more about me because it’s my blog and there’s nothing you can do about it. I am obsessed with the band Jethro Tull. I don’t exactly know why, since this is a recent development. I mean, I’ve liked them all my life, but it’s only recently that I’ve kept Benefit on my daily playlist. Rediscovering music you’ve liked but taken for granted is a wonderful thing.

In terms of games to play, I have to recommend Audiosurf above everything else, ever. I’ve always loved playing music, but I never thought I would literally GET to PLAY a song. If you haven’t tried it yet your life is incomplete. I’m also a big fan of the Max Payne series, and am currently playing through Crisis Core: Final Fantasy 7, which just might be the finest game ever put on the PSP. And yes, I can hear you now. “Oh great, another FF7 junkie.” Well, yes. Do I think it’s the greatest game ever? No, but I do think it belongs somewhere on the Top 25. Oh, and I hate Halo. I just think it’s boring.

So what do I think is the greatest game ever made? Hands down, Mega Man X4. Mainly because of Zero’s gameplay, which was perfect 2D swordplay. I loved just going around, hacking and slashing through every enemy. But I digress.

I’m looking forward to finally having a blog where I can talk more personally about what I’m working on and what I think of this and that in the games industry. With NightRise finally in motion, my NightRise Development Blog will now be used solely for posts about NightRise’s development, and all the other sorts of political and/or commentary posts I used to make there will now go here. So if you like reading my ramblings, check here from now on.

In the meantime, here are some other blogs you might want to check out:
Applied Game Design Veteran Game Designer Brenda Brathwaite’s blog on being a designer.
Brian Shurtleff A good friend of mine and a very informative blog.
Thomas John Lloyd Kastner Another good friend of mine with a blog more on the controversial side of things, but he’s awesome so it’s all good.
Tiny Subversions Darius Kazemi’s blog on happenings in the Boston game industry.
Wut? – A Game Design Student’s Perspective Another designer named Dan (and another good friend of mine) shares his stories of being a designer with you, the reader.

You’ll find links to all of these blogs on the right side of this blog. I’ll be adding more in the future (especially when Julia finally updates hers), but this is what you get for now. If you want your blog added to the blogroll, let me know.

And thus ends my first post. Peace ya’ll.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Whaaaat? Megaman X4? Clearly the winner is X3. Bright orange Megaman wielding Zero’s Sabre FTW.

    I did like X4 though I got stuck on the yellow boss guy who changed shapes… Which is funny cause I can go through the original Megaman games in my sleep.

    And yes I will probably go through most of your blogs and comment on almost everything.

  2. Then from this point on I’ll just wait for you to be done commenting and then bulk approve.

    And Double? He’s easy. A couple Nova Strikes and some fully charged X-Buster and he’s done.

    It’s Iris you gotta worry about as Zero, not to mention how you even begin going about fighting General, who is 2-stories tall, when all you’ve got is a short range attack.

Leave a Reply

